The Beautiful Girls

Standard

Well, usually I’d put my paintings, or any of my artwork into my page on the side along with all my other previous arty stuff. But I thought this particular painting deserved a whole new blog spot.

The Beautiful Girls, an Aussie Indie band, came into Byron town the other day as part of their tour. And seeing as Chris had managed to get himself an interview with the band members, I thought I’d see if I could do something for them to sign… or something to that affect.

So I promptly nipped down to the local art supplies store just down the road from me and bought myself some ready stretched and framed canvas.

Armed with a lush blue/green acrylic, some black and white to mix in and my brushes, I quickley started sketching out the poster onto the canvas. Not wanting to put too much detail in, cause I can’t for the life of me draw faces… I made a basic outline of the tour poster, and set straight off onto the paints!

… The tour poster I used for the reference…

… An hour or two later…

… And if you look in the top right corner, you’ll see that Mat himself (the lead vocal/guitarist of TBG) signed the painting during Chris’s interview! Score!!

There’s a photo of Mat with the painting somewhere on Chris’s SD card, but I can’t get to it right now, so I’ll pop that one up very soon 🙂

x

One response »

Leave a Reply

