Let It Snow!

Standard

Well.. as we all know.. the country has been hit by it’s first (I’m imagining first of many) batches of pure wintery weather this week.

There’s that crisp chill in the air, the hills and endless fields are layered by sheets of white and kids are scurrying around with big smiles on their faces!

Winter is finally here!! And you know what… I fucking love it.

I don’t know what it is… but it seems the majority of people who experience this beautiful weather just HATE the stuff!!

Ok, yes, it is rather annoying to have to wrap up in dozens of layers just to get some kind of heat through your body. You can wear all means of fleeces, woolens, a thousand denier tights, and your still not warm!!

And yes, attempting to drive through the stuff is also equally frustrating. Trying to avoid the dreaded black ice, is like trying to avoid driving on the road alone!

Scraping the white stuff off the windscreen every time you venture out tends to get ever so tedious, and its only after a good few miles that the car finally heats up so your’e no longer seeing your breath… by this point you often find yourself arriving at work – only to go back out into the cold!

Time seems to come to a standstill too when it snows as much as it has…

Just the other day – my typical 15 minute drive home from work turned into an hour long one. Which involved helping out a fellow driver along with 3 other pedestrians to get her car up the hill… quite a tricky challenge with Ugg boots that grip shit all on icey roads!

I then continued my journey home staying no higher than gear 2, and barely exceeding 15mph! Only to be greeted by a jack kniffed lorry in a tiny village, still 10 miles from home!

But at the end of the day… I took my time. And thats the essence of it all.

I agree it’s horrible driving in the snow, and worse still, the ice. It’s a dreaded feeling having some prick coming honking down the road behind you with all this ice and just gripping onto the wheel for dear life with the thought of where the car might end up… hopefully not in my boot!

Turning up late for work is a royal pain in the ass, but who cares… surely your boss would much rather you turn up to your job in one piece albeit late, than spread out over the road in some metal pile up?

At the end of the day… there is nothing we can do about it. Which is why I would much rather enjoy it!

When I look out the window to the snow, I always have a smile on my face. It’s such a peaceful sight.  As the saying goes, it’s a picture postcard – it is perfect.

Seeing miles upon miles of pure white blissfulness never tires me.

I feel like almost everyone I know, from my family to my colleagues really wants rid of the stuff from the roads and pavements of our villages… well no! Get used to it! Stop being such a boring fart and accept that it is in fact WINTER!!

I for one love, love, LOVE the snow! It makes this time of year so much more worth it. I’d pick snow over rain any day of the year.

Who’s with me?!

Leave a Reply

