A Thanks To The Boy Who Dumped Me

Standard

A thought occurred to me while I was talking about future travel plans with Chris the other day. A thought that never crossed my mind, till I considered all the money I’m saving from my monthly pay cheque towards hitting the road again.

What would I be doing right now if I weren’t planning my RTW?

Out of all the questions that could be asked, this one really stumped me for answers. I couldn’t think what on earth I would be doing if I didn’t have the travel itch. If I wasn’t saving every last pound for my travels, what would I be spending that money on?!

Every month I put aside as much money from my pay as physically possible. My savings account is building and it gets me so excited for what’s to come. All the places I’ll see, faces I’ll pass or meet, and footsteps I’ll leave behind as I work my way around the world. There’s nothing else, at this moment in time, which I would rather be doing.

But what if things were different? I guess I would need to look back to where the Travel Bug first nestled itself in my brain and began my journey – in the summer of 2008. ‘08 was a crazy year for me, crazy in a good and bad way. I’ll give you in the gist;

I was turning 21 – Yay!

I was graduating from 3 years of college – Yay!

I had my final Fashion Show (big stressful event!) – Yay…ish

My boyfriend dumped me – Noo!

And finally I was starting Uni – Yay….?!

Might I just add… all of these bar the latter subject of Uni happened in the month of June. So you could say June 2008 is where it all began. I had just finished 3 amazing years at college and my Aussie boyfriend decided he wasn’t ready for a relationship… and if I’m honest, it was his decision to end things that triggered me to get up and go.

My urge for a Uni degree disappeared and my urge to travel blossomed.

But if he hadn’t of dumped me – would I have stayed with Uni? Well yeah, probably. He told me he loved me, and I loved him. Looking back I remember saying I was more than happy to stay here in my hometown and be with him. Which would mean by now I would’ve just graduated (hopefully!) from Uni and have to think what to do with the rest of my life from here on out!

In which case I’d probably find myself a full time job to pay for some kind of accommodation – overpriced of course – and get by like everybody else, paying bills, complaining about aforementioned bills and the lovely weather we’ve been having and of course not forgetting those little 2 week holidays here and there.

That thought makes me shudder with dread!

Of course, at some point I might actually have to join the brigade of 9-5 jobs and mortgages, but thankfully for now I’ve delayed this nightmare to pursue my dream while the iron is still hot.  It’s all been fate. Fate that I met this boy, fate that he dumped me, fate that I discovered the world of travel and fate that I’m still doing it!!

So, I guess what I’m trying to say here is – thanks. Thanks to Bob* for dumping me. If it wasn’t for you, I wouldn’t have done half the shit I had done in the past 3 years and I certainly wouldn’t be planning yet another trip with my curly headed surfer. You did me an awesome favour 🙂

And I certainly wouldn’t of visited my favourite place in the world – Byron Bay 🙂

11 responses »

  1. Fate has a strange way to playing with our lives, and it’s only in retrospect that we ever thank it 🙂 I’m glad the travel bug bit you too!

    • I really do believe in fate, it’s just amazing.
      Of course, at the time these things happen, you think it can’t get any better… But time definately a healer!! 🙂
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. Pingback: The best new travel posts: World First Weekly Wander | World First Travel Insurance Blog

  3. High five to that hun! If I hadn’t have left my bf of 4.5 years there’s no way I’d be doing what I am now – we definitely are better for it…and your grass is certainly greener now that you’ve found Mr Curly Wurly =)

    • Agreed mrs!
      I totally believe in fate, with my mum and dad being an example (but that’s a long story!) but fate is totally out there and everything happens for a reason!
      Plus if it wasn’t for me meeting Mr Curly Wurly (love the name!) I wouldn’t be possibly meeting u in November! The flights are booked so we should arrange a tweet up with the others?!
      Also, he told me today about his advert on his blog thanks to your guidance and he told me u said to share some monies with me… Love you!! Hehe! Xx

  4. Love this post – my round the world trip was triggered by a break up of my relationship too. Up until that point I just figured i’d graduate, move in with him, get a job and start paying the bills. But thanks to fate (and I believe a lot in fate!) i’m now doing what i’m doing, all thanks to my *Bob too

  5. Pingback: The Lessons We Learn « in the words of kez…

Leave a Reply

