Home Away From Home

Standard

Since travelling to the other end of the world and back, I’ve come to realise that you really don’t have to travel so far to experience and appreciate an amazing destination.

Over the last few weeks, I had been umm-ing and ahh-ing over what to do with a few days holidays I had booked at the end of September. I knew I wanted to simply get away from home for a while. Away from the usual views from my bedroom window, away from the tedious trip into town to spend money on things I didn’t really need.

I wanted to explore. I wanted to be a traveller again, even just for a couple of days.

And so, I booked my bus (a whole £24 return ticket!) the morning before my holiday begun… to the capital of my beautiful country…

Edinburgh.

I was excited, but admittedly a little apprehensive about going. Although I have travelled for a year to the Land Down Under, I had never been fully solo during that whole year – I was always with someone at some point. So even though it was for a matter of a few days, I still had that element fear about meeting new people.

But I soon realised, you don’t necessarily have to meet people in order to have a great time. As the saying goes – the world is your oyster – and for that few days Edinburgh was mine :).

As soon as I arrived, I knew I wanted to get out and enjoy the glorious weather… the whole of the UK was basked in a freak heat wave just as my mini break was beginning and it couldn’t be any more perfect :).

Over the next few posts, I’ll share my many stories from this stunning city, including;

Getting lost… numerous times,

Meeting randoms in the streets,

Buskers of all shapes and sizes,

Almost breaking my toe on a 12th century building,

And feeling my most happiest in months 🙂

For now though, I’ll share a few of the photos I took while the sun shone down on my perfect mini break 🙂

Arthur's Seat - seen from Calton Hill

Walter Scott Monument in the sun

Scotland's Flower

Leave a Reply

